Mining for Development Conference 2013 

Maximising Benefits for Communities 

Conference Program

Mining for Development Conference 2013 Program – Download PDF

Monday 20 May 2013

07.30 Registration, refreshments and networking
08.30 Plenary one
Conference welcome
Ian Satchwell, IM4DC  Director
Opening address
The Hon Dr Andrew Leigh MP, Parliamentary Secretary to the Prime Minister
Keynote one: Mining for development: a priority for Australian aid
Peter Baxter, Director General, AusAID
Keynote two: Mining for Development: an international perspective
Mr Mark Lowcock, Permanent Secretary, Department of International Development, United Kingdom
Keynote three: Responding to fast changing community aspirations
Ms Ume Wainetti, National Program Coordinator, Family and Sexual Violence Action Committee, PNG
Keynote Four: Success factors for inclusive development from mining
Professor Paul Collier CBE, Director for the Centre for the Study of African Economies at The University of Oxford
10.30 Morning tea
11.00 Plenary two: Realising the opportunities and meeting the challenges
Professor Chris Moran, Director, Sustainable Minerals Institute, The University of Queensland
HE Wahidullah Shahrani, Minister for Mines, Islamic Republic of Afghanistan
Hon Irene Muloni, Minister of Energy and Mineral Development, Uganda
Dr Graeme Hancock, President and Chief Representative, Anglo American Development LLC, Mongolia
12.30 Conference lunch: Mining and equitable development
Mr Peter Baxter, Director General, AusAID
Dr Esperanca Bias, Minister of Mineral Resources, Republic of Mozambique
14.00 Plenary three: Addressing gender issues in mining for development
Ewen McDonald, Deputy Director General, AusAID
Katherine C Heller, Social Development Specialist, Oil, Gas and Mining, The World Bank
Dr Helen Szoke, Chief Executive, Oxfam Australia
Ume Wainetti, OK Tedi
Mrs Doris Eaton, Pilbara Chairperson, Yamatji Marlpa Aboriginal Corporation
15.00 Afternoon tea
15.30 Plenary four: Developing human capacity and leadership for change
Winthrop Professor Mark Griffin, Future Fellow, School of Psychology, The University of Western Australia
Antonio Pedro, United Nations Economic Commission for Africa Sub-regional Office for Eastern Africa
Peter Aitsi, Director Transparency International PNG and Country Manager Newcrest Mining
Dr Ernesto Sirolli, Chairman and CEO, The Sirolli Institute
Peter Meurs, Director of Developments, Fortescue Metals Group Ltd
16.30 Plenary five: Summary and wrap up of day one
17.00 Conclusion of day one
19.00 Conference dinner, Doltone House, Pyrmont. Keynote address: Inspiring change
Tim Shanahan, Director, Energy and Minerals Institute
Michael L Ross, Professor of Political Science, University of California, Los Angeles and Director of the Center for Southeast Asian Studies

Tuesday 21 May 2013

09.00 Plenary six: Building good governance for mining for development
Professor Paul Flatau, Director and Chair in Social Investment and Impact, Centre for Social Impact, Business School, The University of Western Australia
HE Mrs Sinkinesh Ejigu, Minister of Mines and Chair of the Bureau of African Union Mining Ministers, Ethiopia
Gudrun Kopp,  Parliamentary State Secretary to the Federal Minister for Economic Cooperation and Development, Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development, Germany
Erik Solheim, Chair, OECD Development Assistance Committee
10.30 Morning tea
11.00 Concurrent session one (a): Strengthening subnational governance
David Brereton, Deputy Director, research Integration, Sustainable Minerals Institute, The University of Queensland
Professor Carlos Casas, Chair, Economics Department, Universidad del Pacifico
Carlos Monge, Latin America Regional Coordinator, Revenue Watch Institute
Mr Javier Aguilar, Deputy Program Manager, Extractive Industries Transparency Initiative Multi-Donor Trust Fund, World Bank
11.00 Concurrent session one (b): Frameworks for negotiation and agreement making
Associate Professor Jill Howieson, Law School, The University of Western Australia (scoping of negotiation capacity-building)
Ms Jackie Mandelbaum, Lead Law and Policy Researcher, Columbia University
Professor Fabien Nkot, Office of the Prime Minister, Cameroon
Bruce Harvey, Global Practice Leader – Communities & Social Performance, Rio Tinto
Ms Rhonda Jacobsen, Senior Legal Officer at the North Queensland Land Council Native Title Representative Body and Acting Commissioner of the Land and Environment Court
Dr Paulo de Sa, Manager, Sustainable Energy Department, Oil, Gas and Mining Unit, World Bank
12.30 Conference lunch: Achieving inclusive development through collective impact
Rowan Callick, Asia Pacific Editor, The Australian
Mr James Gilling, First Assistant Director General, AusAid
Mr S Vijay Iyer Director, Sustainable Energy Department, World Bank
Dr Paul R. Samson, Director General, Multilateral Development Institutions Directorate, Canadian International Development Agency
Mr Petter Nore, Director and Head of Department, Norwegian Agency for Development Cooperation
14.00 Concurrent session two (a): Preventing conflict through positive stakeholder relationships
Saleem Ali, Director, Centre for Social Responsibility in Mining
Dame Meg Taylor, Office of the Compliance/Adviser Ombudsman, World Bank Group
Aidan Davy, Deputy President and Senior Program Director, International Council on Mining and Metals (ICMM)
Doris Puiahi, Program Manager, Live and Learn, Solomon Islands
Alex Benkenstein, South African Institute of International Affairs
14.00 Concurrent session two (b): Building sustainable local enterprise and employment
Melanie Stutsel, Director – Health, Safety, Environment and Community Policy, Minerals Council of Australia
Jon Samuel, Head of Social Performance, AngloAmerican
Ainsley Butler, Chief Investment Officer, Building Markets
Fabrice Ilunga Mujinga, Master Enterprise Facilitator, Kamina Friends Inc, DR Congo
Hudson Mtegha, University of the Witwatersrand
15.30 Afternoon tea
16.00 Plenary seven: Maximising the benefits – the way forward
Dr Megan Clark, Chief Executive, CSIRO
The Hon Clare Short, International Chair, Extractive Industries Transparency Initiative (EITI)
Facilitated panel discussion with three emerging leaders from the International Mining for Development Centre’s alumni group
Enkhchimeg Tsevegjav, Program Coordinator, Center for Executive Education, American University of Mongolia
Vincent Kawamya, Coordinator UNU/INRA Mineral Resources Unit, University of Zambia
Isshaq Mahdyyar, Mining Engineer, Ministry of Mines, Afghanistan
17.00 Conclusion of day two